Play On! - 1996 Broadway Cast Recording

Original 1996 Broadway Cast Recording

Music by Duke Ellington

Music adaptation of William Shakespeare's "Twelfth Night" set in 1940s Harlem. Vy comes to swinging 1940s Harlem to write songs for the Duke, Harlem's greatest band leader. To overcome the sexist barriers of the time against women songwriters, she disguises herself as a man, Vy-man. She finds the Duke in tears over his loss of Lady Liv, Harlem's "queen of the blues". The Duke likes Vy-man's music, so he instructs the songwriter to go to the Cotton Club and present one of her songs as if it were a new song written by the Duke for Lady Liv. Lady Liv finds Vy-man charming, and a series of mistaken pairings results.

Act 1
1. Take the A Train
2. Drop Me Off in Harlem
3. I've Got to be a Rug Cutter
4. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
5. C Jam Blues
6. Mood Indigo
7. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
8. Don't You Know I Care
9. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
10. I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
11. Hit Me With a Hot Note and Watch Me Bounce
12. I'm Just a Lucky So-and-So
13. Everything But You
14. Solitude

Act 2
15. Black Butterfly
16. I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
17. I'm Beginning to See the Light
18. I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
19. I Didn't Know About You
20. Rocks in My Bed
21. Something to Live For
22. Love You Madly
23. Prelude to a Kiss
24. In A Mellow Tone

Related products

View all
Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart